RSBY was launched in Uttar Pradesh on 1st of April 2008. In the first phase, 15 districts were covered namely, Ambedkar Nagar, Azamgarh, Baghpat, Banda, Bijnore, Chitrakoot, Fatehpur, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Hamirpur, Jaunpur, Kanpur Nagar, Saharanpur, Sant Rabi Das Nagar and Sonebhadra. As of today, 71 districts . 945 private hospitals as well as 200 Government hospitals are working in these districts under RSBY scheme.

The Department of Rural Development is the Nodal agency for RSBY implementation in Uttar Pradesh. Commissioner Rural Development is the Nodal Officer. ICICI Lombard, The Oriental Insurance co. Limited, United India Insurance  are the Insurance Companies working under the RSBY scheme in Uttar Pradesh. Capital Business Systems Ltd. New Delhi is the service provider for data conversion services.


Both rural and urban BPL will soon be able to receive the benefits of RSBY in all the districts of Uttar Pradesh. RSBY Team of Uttar Pradesh is committed towards this goal.